Reviews

What people are saying about Babingtons Cottage




Wonderful Escape - Rating 5/5

We spent a very happy few days at Babingtons Cottage in great comfort & warmth. Weather not brilliant but lots to do and spectacular walks. Excellent lunch at the Teviot Smokery near Kelso.We would love to come again.

Reviewer:Anne Ford | Sun 13th Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


What more could one ask for - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay.It was perfect for a relaxing & peaceful holiday with family.Birds, butterflies & bees and beautiful views.Could we have asked for more!

Reviewer:John & Eleanor Fairestwith f | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Very well equipped with a beautiful garden - Rating 5/5

Interesting architecture filled with nooks and crannies.Very well equipped with a beautiful garden.Despite the weather it proved to be an ideal centre for exploring Northumberland.Very enjoyable week.

Reviewer:Mr. Vorley| Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Very relaxing, views amazing & watch out for hare racing up the lane. - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely week in your cosy, comfortable cottage.Visited many Abbeys & Churches.The Hat Box int the Cottage(information literature) was filled with wicked ideas.Played golf at the Hirsel and Eyemouth £30. 00 each per round.Ate twice at the Bluebell & twice at the Collingwood Arms - both excellent.The little Deli at Cornhill by the Collingwood Arms was useful & my husband found a Scotch Pie!Very relaxing, views amazing & watch out for the hare racing up the lane

Reviewer:Bob & Brenda T | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time in this comfortable cottage with its glorious views of the Cheviots.Enjoyed our trips to Bamburgh and Newton upon Sea.We had a good lunch at the Tankerville Arms just outside Coldstream and enjoyed connecting up with relations who still live in the area.The children & grown ups all loved our trip to Chillingham Castle which still feels very lived in with the most atmospheric cafe.Thank you for a lovely setting to a great holiday in Northumberland

Reviewer:Mr. Wilkinson -party of 7 | Sat 25th May 2019 | 4 months ago


A great Venue - Rating 5/5

Had a great week booked with HPB.We've not seen anyone around the cottages all week.Great road biking area.We've done loads of Castles, including Norham - free of charge.Cottage all works with everything helpfully labelled.Great food at Rajdhanic Spice in Coldstream - we went three times -decor there may be a little tired but food makes up for it.Tried to eat at Collingwood Arms but fully booked even on a Tuesday evening.We found Etal Castle closed on Tuesdays.In all a great venue.

Reviewer:Chris, Jane & Patrick (aged 12) W | Sat 20th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


So much to do - Rating 5/5

What wonderful weather we have had for this time of year. Lovely comfortable accommodation.Excellent for exploring this area.We had a non-stop week. Day one passed Bamburgh Castle had lovely walk over the dunes and the beach with our two dogs Domino, a Greyhound and Bobby , a Springer Spaniel.Went on to Sea Houses and watched all the activity.Another day we had a trip over to the Farne Islands.Great boat trip around the islands.Saw lots of seals with pups and a few puffins and other birds.The Islands were crowded with wild life.A great trip.We visited Holy Island, Berwick on Tweed, Alnwick - Railway Bookshop, Kelso, the gardens at Floors Castle.Walked around the Hirsel.So much to do and everywhere we stopped we were made welcome with our dogs.A very dog friendly area.Hope to return one day.

Reviewer:Elisa & Graham Truckey & Ivor MarriottDomino (Greyhound)& Bobby (Springer S | Sat 23rd Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


What a Find - Rating 5/5

What a find! Thanks to HPB.Perfect garden and views.A cottage of character and style.Thrilled with the Borders and look forward to a return visit

Reviewer:Anne & Geoff Lampert & Elsie (Border T | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Happy Week - Rating 5/5

We have spent a very happy week in this very comfortable house enjoying the area.Thank You.

Reviewer:Rosemary BoomeHoward & Angela Williams & T | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Delightful stay - Rating 5/5

We had a delightful stay at Babingtons, it is comfortable and well appointed without being over the top, also without some people sleeping in the sitting rooms. Wonderfully situated for so many different interests. We hope to stay again to see what we missed!

Reviewer:Mayling H | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Everhot Cooker a novelty & easy to use - Rating 5/5

Extremely lucky with weather - record temps - up to 32 degrees!!!!Cottage - excellent. Comfortable with everything we needed.Blackout blinds in bedrooms were needed and ensured a good nights sleep.Everhot cooker was a novelty but easy to use.Now want one at home.Shopping in Coldstream Co-op seemed to cover all our needs.Esso Garage (good prices) open from 7 am to 10pm Mon-Sat. 7am-6pm Sunday.Tourist information does not exist in Coldstream but leaflets in Hat Box were invaluable.Floors Castle - dogs are allowedbut need to be kept on lead because of sheep & deer.Berwick on Tweed is a lovely town& beaches are dog friendly as is the beach at Spital.Went back for a second visit.Blue Bell at Crookham really nice meal here.Came here for our last night - dog friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. Schribner & Tuppence (The D | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautifully decorated and furnished - Rating 5/5

Not only is Babingtons a most attractive cottage - beautifully decorated and furnished, extremely comfortable and in glorious unspoilt countryside but it is also within easy reach of many places of great interest. We had a wonderful time visiting a number of historic houses with fine collections including Floors Castle, Paxton House, Mellerstain House, Traquair, Abbotsford and Manderston. We also visited Holy Island with Lindisfarne Priory and Castle, Bamburgh Castle and Melrose Abbey. A week wasn't nearly long enough. There is so much more to see. We very much hope to return.

Reviewer:Michael Burrell and Sarah B | Thu 31st May 2018 | 1 year ago


Uplifting experience - Rating 5/5

A stay at Babingtons is the most pleasant, relaxing and spiritually uplifting experience.

Reviewer:Dr Angela W | Wed 30th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautifully maintained property - Rating 5/5

Babingtons is a superb and beautifully maintained property. It is spacious, most elegantly appointed in excellent taste and an extremely comfortable place in which to stay. This is due, in part, to the good size of all the rooms including several charming bedrooms and an ample supply of bathrooms and loos. It is easy to run, an efficient kitchen is located conveniently close to the dining room. It is set in the most exquisitely beautiful part of the Borders in its own delightful garden and is ideal as a base for exploring or simply for relaxation. It also perfect for staying at in any season of the year.

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 14th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Fantastic accommodation and wonderful sunny weather.Sunshine every day but cool at times

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. B | Sat 12th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

I spent a wonderful weekend at Babingtons. It is a charming place to relax and enjoy the comfort of the beautifully decorated cottage, well-equipped for all requirements and tastes. The garden and surrounding landscape offer such rural peace. Everyone who has a holiday here could only leave feeling refreshed and restored.

Reviewer:Camilla J | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Feeding the Birds - Rating 5/5

Arrived in sunshine and left in thick swirling snow!We bought some luxury bird seed from the pet suppliers in Coldstream, filled the bird feeders and waited - we watched with binoculars from the housegoldfinches great tits, robin, thrush, blackbird & a pheasants.A sparrow hawk sat on on the post by the field with a horse in it.Weather cold, clear & beautifully sunny. Day 2 bird feeders were emptied in 4 hours. Friday Floors Castle, lovely & interesting with great shop in the Cafe.We had a really good week, great weather and alovely comfortable well equipped cottage. Would love to come back.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. E | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Undoubtedly the very best - Rating 5/5

After a long flight from Australia we finally arrived at Maggie's beautiful cottage to be welcomed by afternoon tea and a roaring log fire. We have travelled all over the world but we have to say this self-catering cottage was undoubtedly the very best. Extremely well appointed, spacious and cosy, it was totally relaxing and comfortable. The owner has thought of everything.We found the location well suited for visits to Holy Island, Edinburgh as well as the Border Country with Kelso, a beautiful market town just up the road. Our daily walk along the River Tweed, a stone's throw from the cottage, were a photographer's delight.

Reviewer:Jane V | Wed 14th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfort and tranquility- Rating 5/5

We have greatly enjoyed staying in the comfort and tranquility of your charming well-appointed cottage 'Babingtons' with its touches of luxury and breathtaking views. We hope to stay there again.

Reviewer:Lt-Commander and Mrs F | Wed 3rd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Donkey Sanctuary & even a cake tester- Rating 5/5

Lovely place for a few days break and a birthday.Sunny & cold.Enjoyed trips to Embleton Beach - amazing sands and the Skip Inn at Low Newton.The Scottish Borders Donkey Sanctuary was a great place for Children & Adults - donkeys, goats, pigs, llamas & chickens.Only open at weekends. O.k for the dog too Also visited Union Chain Bridge and the Chain Bridge Honey Farm nearby.The bridge is an incredible feat of engineering and beautiful walks along the Tweed too. Bought lots of honey for Xmas gifts at the Honey Farm.Hirsel estate at Coldstream is great for crafts & gifts and walking the dog on lead as pheasants!!!!!!!!!Also a tea room there.Cosy cottage with everything needed even a cake tester.Hope to come again.

Reviewer:Nigel & Tessa & Rita - the Jack Russell| Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Real Fire in the Evenings- Rating 5/5

Great relaxing week.Sitting in front of real fire in the evenings was a great novelty.The weather was kind but would loved to have taken advantage of being able to sit in the garden at night.Toured the Abbeys in the Borders and took a train trip to Edinburgh.Lovely cottage.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs H | Sat 21st Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Thanks for a lovely fortnight- Rating 5/5

Thanks for a lovely fortnight.Very well equipped and comfortable cottage.Superb base for touring etc.Family visited and very impressed.Recommend Lindisfarne.Fastest & shortest way is B6353. Visited Ford & Etal, Floors Castle and Flodden if you dont mind walking!!

Reviewer:Dr. G | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect for sightseeing - Rating 5/5

I spent a lovely few days at Babingtons cottage in September. The weather was wonderfully sunny and warm, perfect for sightseeing. I also took the opportunity to visit Kimmerston Riding Centre (only 20 mins drive away) where I had a fun 2 hour hack on a lovely horse;would definitely recommend. The cottage was a very relaxing base with spectacular views across the Cheviot Hills. The beds were also very comfortable. I look forward to visiting again.

Reviewer:Jennifer M | Tue 12th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


The Place was Divine - Rating 5/5

The place was divine!!Loved how the house was welcoming and the children loved the garden some of your DVD's and used the information you left about local area - Thanks.Thanks for all your generosity for making it such a relaxing place to stay.

Reviewer:The Traynor Family| Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Amazing experience- Rating 5/5

Thanks so much.It was an amazing experience in your cottage.We had a great time.

Reviewer:Mohammed Al Mani - Kuwait| Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Aurora Borealis- Rating 5/5

This is our second New Year trip to this comfortable home from home/It rained a lot - in fact in bucket fulls but staying in was a delight - cosy cottage & great company!Our one big delight was that New Year's Eve was our one clear night and we welcomed the New Year in on the causeway to Lindisfarne while watching the Aurora Boreais and it does not get much better than that !!Many thanks to the owner, agent and cleaner for making it all possible.

Reviewer:Tannets, Cartledges, Isobel, Rachael & Joan| Wed 28th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect place to visit with grandparents - Rating 5/5

A perfect place to visit with grandparents, parents & grand kids.It feels like we were staying in a family house.Very inviting, pretty and with lovely views.Plenty to do here for all the family. We especially enjoyed quirky Chillingham Castle, eating at the Collingwood Arms.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay

Reviewer:Amanda C | Sat 2nd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Peace & Tranquility- Rating 5/5

It was a joy to arrive here after a 7 hour drive - such peace & tranquillity.What is so wonderful about Babingtons Cottage is that everything is here and very comfortable.One could not want for anything more.Trip Adviser will be pleased to hear from us with a glowing report.Whinney Lock fishing was also a great experience

Reviewer:Christopher P | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Super Holiday- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage.The peace & quiet have been most welcome and we have had beautiful weather to enjoy the garden- especially our Border Terrier - Kipp. There is so much to see in the area that 7 days really is notlong enough.We have over-dosed on gardens, castles and houses - all very impressive.A visit to Lindisfarne was lovely,Cannot fault the welcome and comfort of Babingtons and will return in the near future.Hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we have.Many thanks to Maggie for a super holiday.Best wishes & kind regards.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. Roger C | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Self Catering
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Horse Riding
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat